Nominate a Mate!

2017 Seabird Smart Awards Nominations Open


Here’s your chance to spread the word about your fleet’s achievements, your crew's hard work, or an individual who is going the extra mile to look after seabirds.

The Seabird Smart Awards, run by Southern Seabird Solutions Trust, aim to recognise outstanding leadership and commitment to looking after New Zealand seabirds. You could nominate a skipper or crew, a manager, or even a vessel. Basically it can be anyone associated with fishing in any kind of role.

Submit your nomination here.

Nominations must be received by 10 August.  The awards function is timed to coincide with an international meeting of seabird experts from thirteen countries being held in Wellington in September. 

The caliber of past award winners is extremely high, with each of them identified as a leader or innovator within their area of fishing.

In 2015 Mike Black (Talley's Bluff) and Tom Searle (Leigh Fisheries) were jointly presented the award by Hon. Maggie Barry, Minister of Conservation. 

Mike and Tom are seabird champions, both leading the way in promoting seabird smart fishing practices in their local fleets. Their passion and actions have positively affected the attitudes and behaviour of others in the fishing industry.

In 2015 Jamie Williamson received special acknowledgement as a fisheries observer, well respected by the crews he worked alongside. Wayne Dreadon received special acknowledgement for a long career of leadership and commitment to seabird smart fishing.

Past recipients also include Adam Clow (Moana NZ), Zac Olsen (Sanford Ltd), the crew of trawler FV Thomas Harrison (Sealord Group), Murray Williamson (South East Resources Ltd) and Charles Hufflet (Solander Group).

In addition to looking after seabirds out on the water, all recipients of the Seabird Smart Award in the past four years have been to seabird colonies and worked with scientists helping band, weigh and monitor the health of seabirds.

For more information on the awards contact   

Southern Seabird Solutions would like to thank the 2017 Seabird Smart Award sponsors: the Department of Conservation, the Ministry for Primary Industries, Seafood New Zealand, Te Ohu Kaimoana, WWF-NZ, Sealord Group, Deep Water Group, Moana NZ, Sanford Ltd, and the New Zealand Federation of Commercial Fishermen.