Seabird SMART Awards 2017

Who do you know that goes the extra mile to look after seabirds while fishing?

2015 Seabird Smart Award winners (left to right) Jamie Williamson, Tom Searle, Mike Black and Wayne Dreadon, with Minister of Conservation, Hon Maggie Barry ONZM

The bi-annual National Seabird Smart Awards are an opportunity to recognise leaders and highlight the efforts being made by fishers and the fishing industry to look after New Zealand seabirds.

Individuals, companies, vessel crews or anyone involved in fishing who is committed to making a real difference for seabirds can be nominated for the awards. 

In 2015 the main award was won jointly by Tom Searle (Leigh Fisheries) and Mike Black (Talley's Bluff).  We also recognised Wayne Dreadon for his long term commitment to Seabird Smart Fishing and Jamie Williamson, a Ministry for Primary Industries Fisheries Observer.  

Nominations open mid 2017 and the award will be presented at a ceremony in September/October.  If you require any information before then, please contact

Our Seabird Smart Awards are supported by our Core Partners: WWF- New Zealand, Te Ohu Kaimoana, the Department of Conservation, the Ministry for Primary Industries and Seafood New Zealand.

Related articles:

Fishing's Environmental Champions - Seabird Smart Awards 2015

2012 Recipient Adam Clow

2012 Recipient Zac Olsen

Seabird SMART Awards 'Hall of Fame'


Award recipient



Tom Searle - Winner

Leigh Fisheries


Mike Black - Winner

Talley's Group


Wayne Dreadon - Special Acknowledgement

Whitianga-Coromandel Commercial Fishing Association


Jamie Williamson - Special Acknowledgement

Fisheries Observer Category


Adam Clow - Winner

Aotearoa Fisheries Ltd


Zac Olsen - Winner

Sanford Ltd

Brian Kiddie - Special Acknowledgement



Crew of trawler FV Thomas Harrison - Winner

Sealord Group


Murray Williamson - Winner

South East Resources Ltd, Timaru


Charles Hufflett - Winner

Solander Fisheries, Nelson